Austin Hill wins the Daytona Xfinity race after Mayer wrecks in a dramatic finale

Austin Hill Daytona Xfinity win

After a long video check by NASCAR, Austin Hill won the NASCAR Xfinity season opening at Daytona International Speedway for the second time in a row.

Austin Hill Daytona Xfinity win

After Brandon Jones crashed on the next-to-last planned lap, the race was extended by two laps, and Justin Allgaier promptly took the lead.

On the last lap, Same Mayer attempted to pass Allgaier by going high, but Hill hit him from behind, causing Mayer’s No. 8 to spin in the air and calling out a flag that caused the field to stop moving.

After a replay review, NASCAR confirmed that Hill was in the lead when the warning was issued, giving him his second consecutive Daytona victory.

Hill, who competes for Richard Childress Racing and secures the pole position for the race, was required to stop before the start of the race to address a radio problem. In the race, he effectively moved from the bottom to the front.

“I have no idea (what happened). When I chose the outside line, I didn’t feel like the inside line was that great all day for the most part,” Hill said. “I just wanted to choose the top (on the final restart). I knew (Anthony Alfredo) would stay with me.

“When I saw (Mayer) and (Allgaier) get together, I went to go squeeze him and (Mayer) came down, he started getting loose and then you can’t lift – it’s the last lap. I hope Sam’s OK, man.

“As soon as the caution lights came on, I thought I had it, but it was so close. To get back-to-back at Daytona is real special. We came from the back two different times.”

John Hunter Nemechek came in second, followed by Allgaier, Parker Retzlaff, and Myatt Snider, who finished in the top five.

Riley Herbst, Joe Graf Jr., Ryan Sieg, Cole Custer, and Jeb Burton completed the top ten.

Cla#Driver ManufacturerLapsTimeGapIntervalLaps Led
121 Austin Hill Chevrolet1252:21’29.984  39
220 John Hunter Nemechek Toyota1252:21’30.3600.3760.3768
37 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet1252:21’30.3610.3770.00136
431Parker Retzlaff Chevrolet1252:21’30.3610.3770.000 
519 Myatt Snider Toyota1252:21’30.3620.3780.001 
698 Riley Herbst Ford1252:21’30.6290.6450.267 
739Joe Jr. Ford1252:21’30.7420.7580.113 
838 Ryan Sieg Ford1252:21’31.3021.3180.560 
900 Cole Custer Ford1252:21’31.5831.5990.2811
1010 Justin Haley Chevrolet1252:21’31.5841.6000.0011
1127 Jeb Burton Chevrolet1252:21’31.7731.7890.189 
1216Chandler Smith Chevrolet1252:21’32.1522.1680.379 
1345Stefan Parsons Chevrolet1252:21’32.3942.4100.242 
149 Brandon Jones Chevrolet1252:21’32.3952.4110.001 
1592 Josh Williams Chevrolet1252:21’32.9762.9920.581 
1624 Parker Chase Toyota1252:21’34.4774.4931.501 
1751 Jeremy Clements Chevrolet1252:21’39.6929.7085.215 
1853 Joey Gase Ford1252:21’39.6939.7090.001 
1918Sammy Smith Toyota1252:21’39.6949.7100.001 
2008 Gray Gaulding Chevrolet1252:21’41.89811.9142.2041
2128Kyle Sieg Ford1252:21’46.46216.4784.564 
2202 David Starr Chevrolet1252:22’04.30034.31617.8382
2348 Parker Kligerman Chevrolet1252:22’12.28842.3047.9881
2478Anthony Alfredo Chevrolet1252:22’33.0251’03.04120.737 
255 Jade Buford Chevrolet1252:22’37.0151’07.0313.990 
268Josh Berry Chevrolet1252:23’01.2331’31.24924.21817
271Sam Mayer Chevrolet1242:20’39.1941 Lap1 Lap14
2844 Jeffrey Earnhardt Chevrolet1242:21’44.9801 Lap1’05.786 
2925 Brett Moffitt Ford1242:21’54.9721 Lap9.992 
3034 Jesse Iwuji Chevrolet1102:06’49.79415 Laps14 Laps 
3135CJ Mclaughlin Chevrolet871:39’19.54038 Laps23 Laps 
3226 Kaz Grala Toyota821:35’30.59643 Laps5 Laps 
336 Brennan Poole Chevrolet811:34’36.81544 Laps1 Lap 
342 Sheldon Creed Chevrolet4153’17.20584 Laps40 Laps5
3543 Ryan Ellis Chevrolet4155’59.99284 Laps2’42.787 
3611 Daniel Hemric Chevrolet2020’17.158105 Laps21 Laps 
3707Blaine Perkins Chevrolet1919’26.160106 Laps1 Lap 
384 Bayley Currey Chevrolet89’48.870117 Laps11 Laps 

We bring out some of the most well-known NASCAR drivers’ apparels , all of which are available at reasonable costs. Visit our link now if you are interested in the racing clothing collection!

Nascar, NASCAR Cup Series, Xfinity, Daytona Xfinity, Austin Hill, Same Mayer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *