Stenhouse’s unexpected victory at the Daytona 500 breaks the NASCAR winless streak

Results of the 2023 NASCAR Cup Daytona 500 1

On the last lap, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. beat off Joey Logano, and a collision behind him gave him the win in Sunday’s Daytona 500.

Results of the 2023 NASCAR Cup Daytona 500 1

Kyle Larson shoved Stenhouse, 35, into the lead for the first time in the race during the first overtime, but an accident involving Austin Dillon and William Byron forced a second two-lap overtime.

Logano moved ahead of Stenhouse as the second overtime period got underway, but a strong effort from Christopher Bell propelled Stenhouse over Logano as Travis Pastrana and Aric Almirola collided, bringing out the flag once more.

Stenhouse was awarded as the champion since the race was ended and he had already claimed the white flag.

“When (Kyle Busch) went to the bottom there I was able to push (Logano) and (Larson),” Stenhouse said of the first overtime. “We had a huge run. I was hoping we were going to get to the white (flag) there, and we didn’t, so I knew I was going to take the top.

“I was hoping (Logano) was going to follow, and he did. He was able to push us out. I went to the bottom, (Busch) and (Logano) got a huge run. Larson split me in the middle, but another fellow dirt racer with Bell gave me a good shot down the little short chute into (Turn) 1, and we were out front when the caution came out.

“We were out of fuel so the fuel light was going crazy. I hope y’all had fun. That was a heck of a race.”

It’s Stenhouse’s third NASCAR Cup victory overall and his first since 2017. His three victories have included several on superspeedways.

Additionally, it is JTG Daugherty Racing’s first victory since A.J. Allmendinger’s victory at Watkins Glen in 2014!

“Man, this is unbelievable,” Stenhouse said. “This was the site of my last win back in 2017. We’ve worked really hard. We had a couple shots last year to get a win and fell short.

“It was a tough season, but man, we got it done, Daytona 500.”

With 212 laps, or 530 miles, the race also set a new record for length.

Alex Bowman, the pole-winner, finished fifth, followed by Chris Buescher in fourth, Logano in third, and Bell in fourth.

Cla#Driver ManufacturerLapsTimeGapIntervalLaps LedRetirementPointsBonus
147 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Chevrolet2123:38’52.921  10 48 
222 Joey Logano Ford2123:38’53.5900.6690.66912 42 
320 Christopher Bell Toyota2123:38’53.5910.6700.00120 35 
417 Chris Buescher Ford2123:38’55.6592.7382.06832 43 
548 Alex Bowman Chevrolet2123:38’58.3925.4712.73312 41 
616 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet2123:38’58.9556.0340.5631 34 
799 Daniel Suarez Chevrolet2123:38’59.3166.3950.3613 30 
812 Ryan Blaney Ford2123:38’59.7376.8160.4211 29 
91 Ross Chastain Chevrolet2123:39’01.2238.3021.4866 38 
1015 Riley Herbst Ford2123:39’02.94110.0201.718    
1167Travis Pastrana Toyota2123:39’05.46012.5392.5192 26 
124 Kevin Harvick Ford2123:39’05.46112.5400.0011 32 
1336Zane Smith Ford2123:39’08.98116.0603.520    
1451 Cody Ware Ford2123:39’09.31716.3960.336  23 
157 Corey Lajoie Chevrolet2123:39’16.69423.7737.377  22 
1619 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota2123:39’16.69523.7740.00113 28 
1711 Denny Hamlin Toyota2123:39’46.18553.26429.4906 20 
185 Kyle Larson Chevrolet2113:37’57.9101 Lap1 Lap6Accident19 
198 Kyle Busch Chevrolet2113:37’57.9471 Lap0.0376Accident18 
2023 Bubba Wallace Toyota2113:37’58.0531 Lap0.1065Accident17 
2110 Aric Almirola Ford2113:37’58.2681 Lap0.21516Accident19 
226 Brad Keselowski Ford2113:37’58.2751 Lap0.00742Accident25 
232 Austin Cindric Ford2103:38’08.2432 Laps1 Lap Accident20 
2442 Noah Gragson Chevrolet2103:39’05.5702 Laps57.327  13 
2554Ty Gibbs Toyota2103:39’17.8612 Laps12.291  17 
2621 Harrison Burton Ford2103:39’20.5852 Laps2.7249 11 
2738 Todd Gilliland Ford2083:37’16.7564 Laps2 Laps Accident11 
2834 Michael McDowell Ford2083:39’39.8544 Laps2’23.098  15 
2950 Conor Daly Chevrolet2063:39’21.7626 Laps2 Laps    
3078 B.J. McLeod Chevrolet2043:39’28.7068 Laps2 Laps  7 
3184 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet2033:20’58.0599 Laps1 Lap Accident10 
3231 Justin Haley Chevrolet2033:21’46.8039 Laps48.744 Accident5 
333 Austin Dillon Chevrolet2023:19’50.53210 Laps1 Lap Accident4 
3424 William Byron Chevrolet2023:19’50.62310 Laps0.091 Accident7 
3514 Chase Briscoe Ford1822:56’04.04830 Laps20 Laps5Accident2 
3641 Ryan Preece Ford1812:51’57.24831 Laps1 Lap4Accident10 
3743 Erik Jones Chevrolet1181:41’16.69994 Laps63 Laps Accident1 
389 Chase Elliott Chevrolet1181:41’38.23094 Laps21.531 Accident1 
3945 Tyler Reddick Toyota1171:39’55.46895 Laps1 Lap Accident1 
4077 Ty Dillon Chevrolet2620’36.377186 Laps91 Laps

We bring out some of the most well-known NASCAR drivers’ apparels , all of which are available at reasonable costs. Visit our link now if you are interested in the racing clothing collection!

Nascar, NASCAR Cup Series, Xfinity, Daytona 500, Ricky Stenhouse Jr, JTG Daugherty Racing, Joey Logano

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *